Philosophy of the Day ~ Happy Is He Who Has Overcome His Ego

Gautama Buddha, the founder of Buddhism, is well known for his Four Noble Truths. It its most basic form, the Four Noble Truths are:

1. Dukkha (The Truth of Suffering)

Suffering is part of life. Suffering is inherent at birth, through sickness and old age, and at death.

2. Samudaya (The Truth of the Origin of Suffering)

The source of suffering is desire. Craving for pleasure, power and worldly possessions bring suffering.

3. Nirodha (The Truth of the End of Suffering)

Suffering will end when we detach ourselves from desire and attachments.

4. Magga (The Truth of the Path to End Suffering)

The Eightfold Path is the means to eliminate desire and attachment and to overcome your own ego.


The Eightfold Path

  1. Right Mindfulness
  2. Right Action
  3. Right Intention
  4. Right Livelihood
  5. Right Effort
  6. Right Concentration
  7. Right Speech
  8. Right Understanding
Picture Source: The Philosophy Book (2011), Dorling Kindersley.

See also:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: